Seether - The Surface Seems So Far (CD)

The Surface Seems So Far
Due on 20/09/2024
Five gold and platinum albums and two dozen Billboard Rock Airplay top 10 hits later, Seether are as vibrant and relevant as ever on their ninth studio record, The Surface Seems So Far. The follow-up to 2020's Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum (which produced three #1 songs) finds the Shaun Morgan-fronted rock quartet flexing the creative chops. Written in pieces over an 18-month period, The Surface Seems So Far is unapologetically aggressive, kicking off with the barn-burning Judas Mind. This is a statement track from the band as they wanted to come out swinging with the first song they released after a few years off. "The album definitely leans heavier than some of the previous ones," notes Morgan, who says he chose from roughly 21 songs with input from the rest of the band, which includes bassist Dale Stewart, drummer John Humphrey, and guitarist Corey Lowery and Judas Mind was at the top of everyone's picks.

The band remain a mainstage staple at every major rock festival, with a touring history that includes treks with contemporaries like Breaking Benjamin, Avenged Sevenfold, Nickelback, Papa Roach, and more. A proverbial lighthouse in a sea of vacuous pop stars and soundalike bands, Seether stand for passion, authenticity, and genuine connection. Songs like Words as Weapons, Broken, Nobody Praying for Me and Fake It are enduring rock anthems. Weathering the storms of changing trends and an evolving music industry, the group's evocative songs and melodic hooks rise above the noise. The band's legacy is set in stone.



1. Judas Mind
2. Illusion
3. Beneath the Veil
4. Semblance of Me
5. Walls Come Down
6. Try to Heal
7. Paint the World
8. Same Mistakes
9. Lost All Control
10. Dead on the Vine
11. Regret