King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Flight b741 (LP)

Flight b741
Due on 09/08/2024

180g recycled black vinyl
For their 26th album, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard swap the widescreen concepts of their recent albums for the intimacy of six good friends collaborating on the most bonhomie-laden set they've yet committed to wax. For Flight b741, bandleader Stu Mackenzie says King Gizzard "wanted to make something that was primal, instinctual, more 'from the gut' - just people in a room, doing what feels right. We wanted to make something fun."

Tapping into the country-fried '70s American rock on which they were all raised - along with the ornery garage-rock roots from which their mighty discography sprang - Flight b741 is lightning caught inside a bottle. Across its 10 ragged, glorious barnburners, King Gizzard flesh out rough skeletons of songs with their inspired improvisations, inimitable grooves and a unique pass-the-mic approach to vocals that saw every member of the band raise their voice and sing. "We're having a lot of fun, but we're often singing about some pretty heavy shit," Mackenzie adds, "and probably hitting on some deeper, more universal themes than usual. It's not a sci-fi record, it's about life and stuff. But the record is like a really fun weekend with your mates, you know? Like, proper fun."



1. Mirage City
2. Antarctica
3. Raw Feel
4. Field of Vision
5. Hog Calling Contest
6. Le Risque
7. Flight b741
8. Sad Pilot
9. Rats in the Sky
10. Daily Blues