Family - A Song for Me [DELUXE] (CD)

A Song for Me [DELUXE]
Due on 01/03/2024

Recorded at Olympic Studios in late 1969 and issued in January 1970, A Song for Me marked a new chapter in the story of Family. The middle months of 1969 had been a period of trauma with the departure of bassist/violinist Ric Grech to join the supergroup Blind Faith and the dismissal of saxophonist Jim King. As a result, vocalist Roger Chapman, guitarist John 'Charlie' Whitney and drummer Rob Townsend recruited bassist and violinist John Weider (previously with Eric Burdon and The Animals) and multi-instrumentalist John 'Poli' Palmer (previously with Blossom Toes and then Eclection) joined on vibes, keyboards and flute.

As a result of the line-up change, the musical characteristics of Family progressed and A Song for Me was a wonderful showcase for the reincarnated band. Upon its release the album reached #4 in the UK charts and saw the band enjoy further success in Europe.

This new two-disc edition of this classic album has been newly remastered from the master tapes and also includes 14 bonus tracks drawn from singles and BBC Radio sessions from August 1969 and January 1970. This release also features an illustrated booklet with a new essay and is a fitting tribute to a much-treasured band.



CD 1:
1. Drowned in Wine
2. Some Poor Soul
3. Love is a Sleeper
4. Stop for the Traffic (Through the Heart of Me)
5. Wheels
6. Song for Sinking Lovers
7. Hey, Let It Rock
8. The Cat and the Rat
9. 93s Ok J
10. A Song for Me
11. No Mules Fool
12. Good Friend of Mine
13. Today
14. Song for Lots
15. Today (Promotional Single Edit)

CD 2:
1. Drowned in Wine
2. Wheels
3. No Mule's Fool
4. The Cat and the Rat
5. Love is a Sleeper
6. Stop for the Traffic (Through the Heart of Me)
7. 93's OK J
8. Songs for Sinking Lovers
9. Here Comes the Grin