Deodato - Night Cruiser & Happy Hour (CD)

Night Cruiser & Happy Hour
Not Currently Available
Robinsongs are proud to present two of (Eumir) Deodato's greatest jazz-funk albums, Night Cruiser and Happy Hour, on one CD.

Night Cruiser was originally released in 1980. The lead-off title track Night Cruiser begins with syncopated chords from a solo electric piano that initiates a four-on-the-floor disco-funk groove. The tune is a vibrant, get-down party piece that filled dancefloors back in 1980. It was issued as a single (in both 7" and 12" formats) and rose to #23 in the US dance charts. The album also features the standout tracks East Side Strut and Uncle Funk. As a bonus track, you get the 7" version of Uncle Funk.

The Happy Hour album was released in 1982 and features the track Keep on Movin', a Deodato original that has been sampled by several dance and hip-hop artists (including Olav Basoski and Le Tropical). The track was the first single from Happy Hour (it came out in both 7" and 12" formats with Keep It in the Family on the B-side) in the spring of 1982, and dented the US dance charts, stalling at #41. The 7" version is included in this package as a bonus track. Happy Hour was issued as the second single from the album in June 1982, and was something of a minor crossover hit. But it blew up even bigger in the American dance charts. You can definitely hear the influence for the '80s Kool & The Gang albums within Happy Hour.

The '80s had been a hectic decade for Deodato, which had seen plenty of outside production projects. They were mostly with R&B acts such as Kool & The Gang, Con- Funk-Shun, Juicy, One Way, Gwen Guthrie and the Dazz.



1. Night Cruiser
2. East Side Strut
3. Skatin'
4. Uncle Funk
5. Love Magic
6. Groovitation
7. Uncle Funk (Edit)
8. Keep on Movin'
9. Happy Hour
10. Just This One Night
11. Tears of a Clown
12. Sweet Magic
13. Keep It in the Family
14. I Never Get Enough
15. Keep on Movin'