De La Soul - 3 Feet High and Rising [BF23] (7" Box Set)

3 Feet High and Rising [BF23]
Not Currently Available
Black Friday 2023

Available in-store from 8am on Friday 24th November and online from 8am Saturday 25th November


12 x 7"

Black vinyl
7" pinup
7" slipmat
3 Feet High and Rising is the debut studio album by hip hop trio De La Soul and was released on March 3rd 1989. It marked the first of three full-length collaborations with producer Prince Paul, which would become the critical and commercial peak of both parties. Critically, as well as commercially, the album was a success. It contains the singles, Me Myself and I, The Magic Number, Buddy and Eye Know. The album title came from the Johnny Cash song Five Feet High and Rising.

It is listed on Rolling Stone’s 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source’s 100 Best Rap Albums. When Village Voice held its annual Pazz & Jop Critics Poll for 1989, 3 Feet High and Rising was ranked #1. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone’s The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, De La Soul's uniquely positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, Me, Myself and I. Their positivity meant many observers labelled them a “hippie” group, based on their declaration of the D.A.I.S.Y. Age (Da. Inner. Soul. Yall). Sampled by artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop (and especially jazz rap). 3 Feet High & Rising was chosen by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry for its cultural significance and general excellence.



7" 1:
1. Intro
2. The Magic Number

7" 2:
1. Change in Speak
2. Cool Breeze on the Rocks (The Melted Version)
3. Can You Keep a Secret

7" 3:
1. Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin’s Revenge)
2. Ghetto Thang

7" 4:
1. Transmitting Live from Mars
2. Eye Know [feat. Otis Redding]

7" 5:
1. Take It Off
2. A Little Bit of Soap
3. Tread Water

7" 6:
1. Potholes in My Lawn
2. Say No Go

7" 7:
1. Do as De La Does
2. Plug Tunin' (Last Chance to Comprehend)

7" 8:
1. De La Orgee
2. Buddy [feat. Jungle Brothers and Q-Tip from A Tribe Called Quest]

7" 9:
1. Description
2. Me Myself and I

7" 10:
1. This is a Recording 4 Living in a Fulltime Era (L.I.F.E.)
2. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)
3. D.A.I.S.Y. Age

7" 11:
1. What’s More (From the Movie Soundtrack Hell on 1st Avenue)
2. Jenifa (Taught Me) (12” Mix)

7" 12:
1. Buddy (Native Tongue Decision Part 1) [feat. Jungle Brothers, A Tribe Called Quest, Queen Latifah and Monie Love]
2. Buddy (Native Tongue Decision Part 2) [feat. Jungle Brothers, A Tribe Called Quest, Queen Latifah and Monie Love]