Bonnacons of Doom - Signs [DINKED EDITION 258] (LP)

In Stock

Silver vinyl
Gatefold sleeve
Doom mask
Individually numbered
Digital download

Dinked Edition 258
Traversing the everyday in 2023, the need for ritual catharsis only grows stronger. The need to lose oneself in a force bigger than ourselves, and to venture into inner space the better to sculpt armour for the battles outside. Luckily this is the job of Bonnacons of Doom, aural soothsayers and progenitors of Trans Pennine hypnotic music. Signs - their second album for Rocket Recordings - marks both a portent of things to come, and a roadmap of the psychic pathways to survival.

This masked troupe, subsumed to mystery and amassed from across the North of England, have stepped up their mission accordingly. Building on the intimidating intensity of their self-titled 2018 debut, this series of fiercely charged mantras and premonitory transmissions is possessed of a new level of communal intensity. The band's choice of weapons - the monomaniacal intensity of the riff, the liberating binary spirit of electronics and the incantatory vocals of ceremonial leader Kate Smith - here coalesce into a metaphysical force which stands defiant of easy categorisation. Within these otherworldly manifestations lurks solace in a place where the transcendent power of heavy amplification, cosmically aligned sonic explorations and strange forces darker and more unknowable can coalesce to cathartic and redeeming effect.

Signs marks out a supernatural landscape where ancient and modern, earthly and alien congregate in the eternal now, whilst Bonnacons of Doom transcend era to light a path for the future.



1. Facing
2. Esus
3. Infra
4. Limina
5. Shore
6. Signs
7. Lichen
8. Semaphore