Crass - Bullshit Detector Two [GREY VINYL] (LP)

Bullshit Detector Two [GREY VINYL]
Ships In 2/3 Days

Grey vinyl
Crass Records, alongside One Little Independent Records, reissue their iconic three volume compilation series, Bullshit Detector, on LP, available in both classic black and special edition grey vinyl.

Bullshit Detector was the name of a series of compilation LPs put together by the anarcho-punk band Crass and released on their own label. Three editions were released between 1980 and 1984, consisting of demo tapes, rough recordings and artwork that had been sent to the band.

The sound quality of the Bullshit Detector series was mixed and often basic, or even poor, as Crass would master the tapes directly to record without any additional production or enhancement. For Crass, the expectation of a polished performance was missing the point.

After punk had already been co-opted, re-packaged and sold back to us, Bullshit Detector volumes 1-3 were, and still are, seen by many to capture the purest ethos of punk culture, an event that inspired hundreds to take to their bedrooms and garages and join the DIY revolution.

Crass believed in the power of community and that their movement was for everybody. These compilations are an admittedly harsh but important part of that story; when Crass gave punk back to the people.

Sleeve notes from Bullshit Detector Three read: "Don't expect music when the melody is anger, when the message sings defiance, three chords are frustration when the words are from the heart."



LP 1:
1. Voice of UK - Waiting for Bardot
2. Nature Wonder - Omega Tribe
3. Random Relations - Suspects
4. Think About It - Your Funeral
5. Freedom - Deformed
6. Receiver Deceiver - Krondstadt Uprising
7. Let's Get It Right - No Label
8. Same Old Songs - Rejected
9. Garageland - Boffo
10. Fuck the System - XS
11. Manipulated Youth - Polemic Attack
12. A. Gardener's Song - A. Gardener
13. Tradition of Slaughter - Toxic
14. Breakup - 1984
15. Insert - Unknown Artist
16. Police Brutality - Toxik Ephex
17. Low - Sic
18. Ain't Got a Clue - Molitov Cocktail
19. Mid 1930's (Pre-war Germany) - Naked

LP 2:
1. We've Realised the Truth Now - Capital Punishment
2. All the Wars - Anthrax
3. Slaughter of the Innocent (Curiosity Kills) - Endangered Species
4. War Games - Pseudo Sadists
5. Psycho Analysis - Total Chaos
6. War Without Winners - Dougie
7. The Survivor - St. Vitus Dance
8. Christus Erection - Stegz
9. Brutalised - Metro Youth
10. Black Market Shadow - Normality Complex
11. Power & The Glory - Youth in Asia
12. Security System - Riot Squad
13. Agent Orange - The Destructors
14. U.K. in Dreamland - The Pits
15. Riot Style - Bored
16. Theatre Comment - Toby Kettle
17. Three Years Later - Chumbawamba
18. Start Again - Passion Killers
19. Get Off Yr Ass - Amerikan Arsenal