Crass - Bullshit Detector (LP)

Bullshit Detector
Ships In 2/3 Days

Black vinyl
Crass Records, alongside One Little Independent Records, reissue their iconic three volume compilation series, Bullshit Detector, on LP, available in both classic black and special edition grey vinyl.

Bullshit Detector was the name of a series of compilation LPs put together by the anarcho-punk band Crass and released on their own label. Three editions were released between 1980 and 1984, consisting of demo tapes, rough recordings and artwork that had been sent to the band.

The sound quality of the Bullshit Detector series was mixed and often basic, or even poor, as Crass would master the tapes directly to record without any additional production or enhancement. For Crass, the expectation of a polished performance was missing the point.

After punk had already been co-opted, re-packaged and sold back to us, Bullshit Detector volumes 1-3 were, and still are, seen by many to capture the purest ethos of punk culture, an event that inspired hundreds to take to their bedrooms and garages and join the DIY revolution.

Crass believed in the power of community and that their movement was for everybody. These compilations are an admittedly harsh but important part of that story; when Crass gave punk back to the people.

Sleeve notes from Bullshit Detector Three read: "Don't expect music when the melody is anger, when the message sings defiance, three chords are frustration when the words are from the heart."



1. Andy T - Jazz on a Summers Day
2. Counter Attack - Don't Wanna Fight for You
3. Alternative - Change It
4. Clockwork Criminals - We Are You
5. Reputations in Jeopardy - Girls Love Popstars
6. Crass - Do They Owe Us a Living
7. Amebix - University Challenged
8. Sceptics - Local Chaos
9. The Sinyx - Mark of the Beast
10. Frenzy Battalion - Thalidomide
11. Icon - Cancer
12. The Speakers - Why
13. A.P.F. Brigade - Anarchist Attack
14. Fuck the C.I.A. - Right or Wrong
15. Caine Mutiny and the Kallisti Apples of Nonsense - Morning Star
16. The Sucks - 3
17. Porno Squad - Khaki Doesn't Go With My Eyes
18. S.P.G. Murders - Soldiers
19. Eratics - National Service
20. Red Alert 8 - Who Needs Society
21. The Snipers - War Song
22. Armchair Power - Power
23. Disrupters - Napalm
24. Andy T - Nagaski Mon Amour
25. Action Frogs - Drumming Up Hope (Ferret Skank)