Various Artists - The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four (LP)

The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four
Ships In 2/3 Days
The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four is a double album of tracks written by Andy Gill and Gang of Four, all newly reinterpreted and recorded by artists whose own unique contributions to music were enriched by listening to Gang of Four.

The album features songs from across Gang of Four's 40-plus year career, each individually chosen by the artists who covered them. Andy Gill originally conceived of the album to mark the 40th anniversary of the release of Entertainment! in 2019. His widow, Catherine Mayer, explains that this plan had already changed by the time of Andy's death in 2020, after some artists chose tracks from different albums and periods.

"Andy was massively excited about this project," Mayer says. "It wasn't of course conceived as a tribute album, but it's comforting to me that he lived to see artists he hugely admired enthusiastically agreeing to participate, signalling that the admiration was mutual." The album artwork has been created by English artist Damien Hirst, a long-time friend of Andy's.


- 2LP



LP 1:
1. Idles - Damaged Goods
2. Tom Morello & Serj Tankian - Natural's Not In It
3. Helmet - In the Ditch
4. 3D x Gang of Four feat. Nova Twins - Where the Nightingale Sings
5. Hotei - To Hell With Poverty
6. Gary Numan - Love Like Anthrax
7. Gail Ann Dorsey - We Live as We Dream Alone
8. Herbert Gronemeyer feat. Alex Silva - I Love a Man in a Uniform
9. LoneLady - Not Great Men
10. JJ Sterry - 5.45

LP 2:
1. La Roux - Damaged Goods
2. Everything Everything - Natural's Not in It
3. Dado Villa-Lobos - Return the Gift
4. The Dandy Warhols - What We All Want
5. Warpaint - Paralysed
6. Flea & John Frusciante - Not Great Men
7. The Sounds - I Love a Man in Uniform
8. Hardcore Raver in Tears - Last Mile
9. Killing Joke x Gang of Four - Forever Starts Now (Killing Joke Dub)
10. Sekar Melati - Not Great Men (Live Version)