Richard Dawson - The Glass Trunk (CD)

The Glass Trunk
Not Currently Available
Following the acclaim and hike in popularity generated by 2014'€™s astonishing Nothing Important LP, two of Geordie singer Richard Dawson'€™s previous masterpieces are receiving much-needed reissues.

Originally released in 2013, The Glass Trunk was triggered by a commission to respond to the local museum service'€™s archives. Dawson created an album largely from stories found in an old 17th Century scrapbook, including a lengthy paean to the sorry demise of community pillar Joe The Quilt-Maker and the much-loved yet equally, viscerally dark Poor Old Horse.

All in all, the record comprises of six acapella odes of between four and 13 minutes in length, plus a rendering of Mike Waterson'€™s The Brisk Lad, interspersed with a series of brief instrumental vignettes; Dawson'€™s guitar sparring with the electric harp of Rhodri Davies for strictly spontaneous 60-second blasts.

Unique, and highly recommended.

1. A Parent's Address to His Firstborn Son On the Day of His Birth
2. I
3. II
4. Poor Old Horse
5. III
6. IV
7. William and His Mother Visit the Museum
8. V
9. VI
10. The Brisk Lad
11. VII
12. VIII
13. Joe the Quilt-maker
14. IX
15. X
16. The Ghost of a Tree
17. XI
18. XII
19. The Ice-breaker Baikal