Rayland Baxter - Wide Awake (CD)

Wide Awake
Ships In 2/3 Days
Rayland Baxter'€™s new album is a dream realized. Since he first started writing music, this roving rock '€˜n'€™ roll philosopher dreamed of a space where he could devote every waking hour to creating. The hard-touring musician finally found it in the form of an abandoned rubber band factory in Franklin, KY, where he covered the windows, threw a mattress on the floor and, with guitar and piano in tow, spent three straight months writing. At night he would sit and listen to the sounds around him: coyotes, the howling wind, the faint prattle of the nightly TV news. The result of this isolation quest is Wide Awake.

"This is an album about decision making," Baxter explains. "It'€™s about being a human at the crossroads. Do I do good or do I do evil? Do I lie or do I tell the truth? Am I going to be happy or am I going to be sad? All of these questions and emotions are things I see in myself, and they'€™re the same things I see in everyone else no matter where I go."

Wide Awake€™ was produced by Butch Walker and features Walker himself on bass, Cage The Elephant's Nick Bockrath on guitar, Dr. Dog'€™s Erick Slick on drums and piano wizard Aaron Embry (Elliott Smith, Brian Eno) on keys. Rayland'€™s father Bucky Baxter contributes pedal steel, as does original Nashville Cat Lloyd Green.

- CD

1. Strange American Dream
2. Casanova
3. Angeline
4. 79 Shiny Revolvers
5. Amelia Baker
6. Without Me
7. Hey Larocco
8. Sandra Monica
9. Everything To Me
10. Let It All Go Man