Hugh Cornwell - Monster (LP)

In Stock
One of the most celebrated songwriters of his generation, Hugh Cornwell is preparing to unveil his new album, Monster. The record features 10 tracks written about some of the most remarkable, and indeed infamous, people of the 20th Century, both heroes and villains. Alongside these luminaries, he took inspiration initially from an extraordinary lady who swam every day in Hampstead ponds, his 98-year-old mother, Winifred. To locals, she was a hero who swam five or six times a day in all weathers, to Hugh's family, she was the villain who kept them all in check. This juxtaposition started Hugh off on his creation of the album with the song La Grande Dame.

As a companion disc to the album, Restoration is a collection of re-recorded acoustic versions of Stranglers hits which Hugh has rediscovered over the years including favourites No More Heroes and Always the Sun alongside gems from the band'€™s catalogue including Outside Tokyo, Don'€™t Bring Harry and Let Me Down Easy.

- 2LP
- Gatefold sleeve
- Includes download

LP 1:
1. Pure Evel
2. La Grande Dame
3. The Most Beautiful Girl In Hollywood
4. Mosin'
5. Mr. Leather
6. Bilko
7. Robert
8. Monster
9. Attack of the Major Sevens
10. Duce Coochie Man

LP 2:
1. Outside Tokyo
2. Let Me Down Easy
3. Souls
4. Don't Bring Harry
5. Goodbye Toulouse
6. Ships That Pass in the Night
7. Never Say Goodbye
8. No More Heroes
9. Big In America
10. Always the Sun