Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - Hope Downs (CD)

Hope Downs
Ships In 2/3 Days
It'€™s rare that a band'€™s debut album sounds as confident and self-assured as Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever'€™s Hope Downs. To say that the first full-length from the Melbourne quintet improves on their buzz-building EPs from the last few years would be an understatement: the promise those early releases hinted at is fully realized here, with 10 songs of urgent, passionate guitar pop that elicit warm memories of bands past, from the Go-Betweens'€™ jangle to the charmingly lo-fi trappings of New Zealand'€™s Flying Nun label. Don'€™t mistake Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever for nostalgists though: Hope Downs is the sound of a band finding its own collective voice.

- CD

1. An Air Conditioned Man
2. Talking Straight
3. Mainland
4. Time in Common
5. Sister's Jeans
6. Bellarine
7. Cappuccino City
8. Exclusive Grave
9. How Long?
10. The Hammer