Jon Hassell - Listening to Pictures (Pentimento Volume One) (CD)

Listening to Pictures (Pentimento Volume One)
Ships In 2/3 Days
Listening to Pictures (Pentimento Volume One) is the first new album in nine years from musical visionary Jon Hassell.

Continuing his lifelong exploration of the possibilities of the studio, fragments of performance are sampled, looped, overdubbed and re-arranged into beguiling unexpected shapes. Hassell applies the painterly technique of 'pentimento'€™ (the reappearance in a painting of earlier images, forms, or strokes that have been changed and painted over) to the arrangements, teasing out texture by the careful overlaying of sound, or a carefully timed reveal of the delicate bones pinning the frame of a track together.

- CD

1. Dreaming
2. Picnic
3. Slipstream
4. Al Kongo Udu
5. Pastorale Vassant
6. Manga Scene
7. Her First Rain
8. Ndeya