Gruff Rhys - Babelsberg (CD)

Ships In 2/3 Days
Babelsberg is the fifth album by Gruff Rhys, and his first for Rough Trade since 2007'€™s classic Candylion.

The album'€™s 10 tracks were initially recorded in early 2016 in a whirlwind three day session that took place before producer Ali Chant'€™s studio was demolished. The band he gathered for the record were his regular drummer Kliph Scurlock (ex-Flaming Lips) and multi instrumentalists Stephen Black (Sweet Baboo) and Osian Gwynedd. The songs then hibernated for 18 months, awaiting orchestral scores by Swansea based composer Stephen McNeff and the incredible work of the 72-piece BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

The result is Gruff'€™s best record to date - a 10-song gazetteer of modern times, with each track set to timeless, indelible melody. Amazingly for a collection written over two years ago, each number seems to pull very sharp focus on the times we'€™re living in.

- CD

1. Frontier Man
2. The Club
3. Oh Dear!
4. Limited Edition Heart
5. Take That Call
6. Drones in the City
7. Negative Vibes
8. Same Old Song
9. Architecture of Amnesia
10. Selfies in the Sunset