WIlko Johnson - Blow Your Mind (LP)

Blow Your Mind
In Stock
Canvey Island'€™s Dr Feelgood guitar legend Wilko Johnson was diagnosed in late 2012 with terminal pancreatic cancer. However, despite the doctors'€™ worst predictions, he continued to perform with a new lust for life and even made the most successful album of his career Going Back Home with the legendary Roger Daltrey. Following that record'€™s remarkable success he announced that thanks to a third opinion from a doctor moonlighting as a rock photographer and life-saving surgery, he was now cancer-free. With customary humour Wilko said of this late-career resurgence "€œMan, there'€™s nothing like being told you'€™re dying to make you feel alive."

Blow Your Mind is Wilko'€™s first album of new material in 30 years, and is the sound of a man feeling very much alive. Joining Wilko on the album are his long-standing band; Norman Watt Roy on bass and Dylan Howe on drums along with returning Going Back Home producer Dave Eringa. Describing the record as "the album I never thought I'€™d get to write" it deals with the trials and tribulations that he faced in the last five years, songs such as Marijuana and Take It Easy deal very directly with the terminal diagnosis he was given.

- LP
- 180g vinyl
- Includes download

1. Beauty
2. Blow Your Mind
3. Marijuana
4. Tell Me One More Thing
5. That'™s The Way I Love You
6. Low Down
7. Take It Easy
8. I Love The Way You Do
9. It Don'€™t€™ Have To Give You The Blues
10. Lament
11. Say Goodbye
12. Slamming