Adam Baldych & Helge Lien Trio - Brothers (CD)

Not Currently Available
Polish violinist Adam Baldych'€™s music combines Polish folk, classical music and many different kinds of jazz. He plays with an astonishing technical range, in which classical finesse is combined with swirling improvisation - and the defiant energy and power of rock music. Since 2015, Baa‚dych has been building these kinds of bridges in the company of the Norwegian pianist Helge Lien and his trio.

Compared to their previous album Bridges, the music on Brothers is dirtier and more uninhibited. The violinist is able truly to portray the entire gamut of emotions through music. In the pianissimo moments it is replete with feeling and also clarity, and on the other hand Baldych can take it to a point where it is so strong and loud it feels almost ready to burst. The interaction of Polish and Scandinavian sounds, of the American and European traditions of improvising, and the ways in which styles and genres unite and complement each other - brotherliness.

1. Prelude
2. Elegy
3. Faith
4. Love
5. One
6. Brothers
7. Hallelujah
8. Shadows
9. Coda