Jeanette Kohn - New Eyes On Martin Luther (CD)

New Eyes On Martin Luther
Not Currently Available
Many have tried to combine jazz and classical music. Few have succeeded. In New Eyes on Martin Luther, the ensembles herein have focused on the similarities instead of the differences and have scrupulously avoided attempts at parody or postmodern extravagance.
Soprano Jeanette Köhn is one of Sweden’s most versatile singers. She has been an established concert and oratorio singer for a long time with engagements all over the world. In 2013 Köhn, together with a small ensemble (Johan Norberg guitar, Magnus Lindgren flute and clarinet, Eva Kruse bass), fronted by Nils Landgren, recorded the album New Eyes on Baroque. The success of that album made it an easy choice to dig even deeper into the history of classical music.
New Eyes on Martin Luther is an experiment based on Nils Landgren's relentless conviction that “music is music” and “nothing is impossible.” With those words serving as a motto, the three ensembles just dived into the music without preconceptions.
1. Da pacem Domine
2. Verleih uns Frieden I
3. Verleih uns Frieden II Gott heilger Geist, Herre Gott
4. Aliot Nouvelle
5. Verleih uns Frieden III
6. Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV
7. Wir gläuben all an einen Gott
8. Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu Dir
9. L’Innamorato
10. An hellen Tagen
11. Tanzen und
12. In Dir ist Freude
13. Jesu bleibet meine Freude, BWV 147/ 10
14. Passamezzo
15. Innsbruck, ich muss Dich lassen
16. Nun ruhen alle Wälder, BWV 392
17. Kein schöner Land in dieser Zeit
18. Ostinato
19. Die Gedanken sind frei
20. Eine feste Burg ist unser Gott