Algiers - The Underside of Power [Indie Exclusive] (LP)

The Underside of Power [Indie Exclusive]
Ships In 2/3 Days
The Underside of Power is the second album from Algiers. Touchstones on the uncompromising and impassioned record run from Southern rap to Northern soul, gospel to IDM, industrial to grime to Italo. Lyrically it touches on oppression, police brutality, dystopia and hegemonic power structures. Its fiery words encompass TS Eliot, the Old Testament, The New Jim Crow, Tamir Rice and Hannah Arendt, while carried by soulful and visceral songs, meditative moments and personal reflection.
This limited edition LP is pressed on cream vinyl, and is only available through independent stores such as ourselves.
1. Walk Like a Panther
2. Cry of the Martyrs
3. The Underside of Power
4. Death March
5. A Murmur. A Sign.
6. Mme Rieux
7. Cleveland
8. Animals
9. Plague Years
10. A Hymn for an Average Man
11. Bury Me Standing
12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly