Vic Chesnutt - Silver Lake (LP)

Silver Lake
Ships In 2/3 Days
You could count on two things with Vic Chesnutt: he would approach any topic from the delicate to the mundane and he would take an unexpected angle. With an incisive eye and razor wit, he would always cut straight to the heart of the matter. He did so to great effect on Silver Lake, giving equal weight to the tender affirmation of In My Way, Yes and the scathing self-critique of Styrofoam, and applying his delightfully odd spin to the standard love story on both Band Camp (a funny, nostalgic tale of romance in the high school horn section) and the Brian Wilson homage Fa-La-La (a saga of unanswered longing set in a hospital).  Chesnutt'€™s idiosyncratic quaver and nylon-string strum are abetted throughout by generous rock and soul arrangements, all of which were pristinely recorded by Daniel Lanois protégé Mark Howard.

This new vinyl edition supplements the record with four bonus tracks from a Silver Lake demos disc.

1. I'm Through
2. Stay Inside
3. Band Camp
4. Girls Say
5. 2nd Floor
6. Styrofoam
7. Zippy Morocco
8. Sultan, So Mighty
9. Wren's Nest
10. Fa-La-La
11. In My Way, Yes
12. Stay Inside (Demo)
13. Girls Say (Demo)
14. Band Camp (Demo)
15. Aunt Avis (Demo)